Book Review · Books · New Adult · Romance

Up in the Treehouse by K.K. Allen

30241888

Genre

New Adult Romance

Description

Romantic Times 2016 Reviewers’ Choice WINNER for Best New Adult Book of the Year

I wanted to tell him all my secrets, but he became one of them instead.

Chloe Rivers never thought she would keep secrets from her best friend. Then again, she never imagined she would fall in love with him either. When she finally reveals her feelings, rejection shatters her, rendering her vulnerable and sending her straight into the destructive arms of the wrong guy.

Gavin Rhodes never saw the betrayal coming. It crushes him. Chloe has always been his forbidden fantasy–sweet, tempting, and beautiful. But when the opportunity finally presents itself, he makes the biggest mistake of all and denies her.

Now it’s too late . . .

Four years after a devastating tragedy, Chloe and Gavin find themselves crashing back into each other’s lives. Haunted by the past, they’re forced to come to terms with all that has transpired to find the peace they deserve. Except they can’t seem to get near each other without combatting an intense emotional connection that brings them right back to where it all started . . . their childhood treehouse.

Chloe still holds her secrets close, but this time she isn’t the only one with something to hide. Can their deep-rooted connection survive the destruction of innocence?

Version

Ebook and Audio book

Review

Wow. I don’t even know where to start with Up in the Treehouse. This book is absolutely wonderful! Gavin is a swoon-worthy book boyfriend. Oh, and I have dibs. Let’s just get that out of the way now. He has such a big heart and isn’t afraid to make the right decision, even when it’s not the easy one. The relationship between Gavin and Chloe is filled with angst and difficulties, which K.K. Allen did an amazing job at writing. Allen pulled at my heartstrings and had me tearing up throughout Gavin and Chloe’s story.

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2tGiM5t

Rating 

♥♥♥♥♥

Quotes 

I know I typically only share three or four quotes from a book, but this one was just so amazing I had over 30 highlighted by the time I was finished. Even limiting it to the nine below was difficult!

The best kind of love is one that stems from friendship. One that grows as it’s nurtured with patience and kindness, blossoming at just the right time.

All I wanted was to follow my heart, but somehow along the way I lost my soul.

Reality is our home, and the longer we’re separated from it, the easier it is to forget who we are. Sometimes the way we choose to cope destroys who we are in the process.”

I can feel his pounding heart between our bodies, my own keeping pace with his. A melody more beautiful than the one coming from the speakers.

When a girl gives you her heart and tells you to trust it, you don’t question it. You don’t waste a second. You just do it.

Our friendship was like glass, fragile and irreplaceable. One moment of weakness . . . one mistake . . . and it might have shattered completely. Our friendship was worth too much to me to risk even the slightest crack.”

He’s been my brightest light during my darkest days. Things may have gotten complicated this year, but he’s still my constant.

Heroes don’t stand there and watch. They don’t make excuses. They step up.

She’s my constant, the only light I need to keep my eyes on the road ahead. With her, I don’t look back. If there’s a fork, we choose the direction together, and if there’s a bump, we hold hands and get through it as a team.

4 thoughts on “Up in the Treehouse by K.K. Allen

Leave a Reply

