Book Review · Books · Romance · Young Adult

10 Things I Can See From Here by Carrie Mac

19225208_236738336841922_1022393266728519639_n

Genre

Young Adult

Description

Perfect for fans of Finding Audrey and Everything, Everything, this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything.

Think positive.
Don’t worry; be happy.
Keep calm and carry on.

Maeve has heard it all before. She’s been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it’s not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom—the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through—is leaving for six months, so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver.

Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm (as well as even more worries) with Salix, a local girl who doesn’t seem to worry about anything. Between her dad’s wavering sobriety, her very pregnant stepmom insisting on a home birth, and her bumbling courtship with Salix, this summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could have foreseen. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves?

Review

10 Things I Can See From Here is an interesting coming of age story about a teenage girl with a severe anxiety disorder. I like that the main character is not your typical teenage girl and had high hopes for this book, but it simply did not impress me or hold my attention. I can usually read a book a day, but this book took me almost a week to get through because I had to force myself to read it and just had no desire to big it up and read.

I voluntarily received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Amazon Link: http://amzn.to/2rTDtf1

B&N: http://bit.ly/2rXmPpX

iBooks: http://apple.co/2rTocei

Rating 

♥♥♥

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s