book review · Books · Fantasy · Paranormal · Young Adult

Freeks by Amanda Hocking

28220899

Genre

Young Adult

Description

In a world of magical visions and pyrokinesis, Mara just wants to have a normal life. But is that possible?

Mara has become used to the extraordinary. Roaming from place to place with Gideon Davorin’s Traveling Carnival, she longs for an ordinary life where no one has the ability to levitate or predict the future.

She gets her chance when the struggling sideshow sets up camp in the small town of Caudry and she meets a gorgeous local guy named Gabe. But before long, Mara realizes there’s a dark presence lurking in the town that’s threatening the lives of her friends. She has seven days to take control of a power she didn’t know she had in order to save everyone she cares about—and change the future forever.

Review

Freeks had me hooked from the first sentence and I could not put this book down until I had captured every last word. I enjoyed reading about the supernatural carnies and the danger they face while visiting Caudry, LA. Hocking setting the story in 1987 only made me love this book even more. This book is unique, romantic, and mysterious. All aspects I crave in a good story.

Amazon Link: http://amzn.to/2qNpIMX

Rating

♥♥♥♥♥

Quotes

“I wanted him to devour me. I wanted to consume him, to feel him on every inch of my flesh…”

“This will never mean anything, because I’ll be gone before it can matter.”

“It’s not the amount of time that makes something real. It’s what happens in that time…Each moment is weighted against the next, and the moments I’ve spent with you have been more meaningful that almost all the ones I’ve had before it.”

“I want to be here with you. If you’re fighting tonight, I want to fight beside you.”

Leave a Reply

