book review · Books · Romance

The Five Stages of Falling in Love by Rachel Higginson

24423458

Description 


 Elizabeth Carlson is living in the pits of hell- also known as grief.

Her husband of eight years, the father of her four children and the love of her life, died from cancer. Grady’s prognosis was grim, even from the start, but Liz never gave up hope he would survive. How could she, when he was everything to her?

Six months later, she is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life and get the kids to school on time. Both seem impossible. Everything seems impossible these days.

When Ben Tyler moves in next door, she is drowning in sorrow and pain, her children are acting out, and the house is falling apart. She has no time for curious new friends or unwanted help, but Ben gives her both. And he doesn’t just want to help her with yard work or cleaning the gutters. Ben wants more from Liz. More than she’s capable of ever giving again.

As Liz mourns her dead husband and works her way through the five stages of grief, she finds there’s more of her heart to give than she thought possible. And as new love takes hold, she peels away the guilt and heartache, and discovers there’s more to life than death.

Review

 I read this book without reading the description, because I had won it in a giveaway and heard so many great things about it. Needless to say, I was shocked when Liz’s husband died in the prologue. I couldn’t believe I hadn’t even finished one chapter and I was already reaching for a tissue.

Higginson perfectly portrays the complexity and desperation behind the grief of losing someone you love and can’t imagine living without. The pain and darkness caused by Grady’s death was immense and tore at Liz and everyone else he touched. Higginson writes with such emotion and depth that I felt all of Liz’s pain, anger, and guilt over Grady. I was a blubbering mess throughout this entire book and I probably should have bought stock in tissues before I even opened my Kindle to start Liz’s story.

Ben was a God send and such an attractive man inside and out. Ben brought light and laughter and hope to Liz’s story. I don’t think I could have made it through the book if it wasn’t for the happy moments with Ben. I would have been too sad for Liz, the kids, Katherine, and Trevor to keep reading.

Amazon Link: http://amzn.to/2j5fXaL

Rating

♥♥♥♥

Quotes

“The only thing that remained the same were his eyes; they were the same dark green eyes I’d fallen in love with ten years ago. They were still full of life, still full of mischief, even when his body wasn’t.”

“I didn’t want to stop missing Grady. I didn’t want this pain to recede because that would mean I would be over this. Over him. And I never wanted to be.”

“I have had four children! Four of them! Do you understand the state of my vagina? What kind of man goes out on a date with a woman that has four children?”

“He doesn’t really seem like the type to have a fetish. But hey, if he does, just go with it. It could be fun!”

“We don’t have to limit how many people we love. Our hearts make room for as many people as we want to let in.”

 

Leave a Reply

