book review · Books · New Adult

Too Late by C. Hoover

2l

Description

Sloan will go through hell and back for those she loves.
And she does, every single day.
After finding herself stuck in a relationship with the dangerous and morally corrupt Asa Jackson, Sloan will do whatever it takes to get by until she’s able to find a way out.
Nothing will get in her way.
Nothing except Carter.

Sloan is the best thing to ever happen to Asa. And if you ask Asa, he’d say he’s the best thing to ever happen to Sloan. Despite Sloan’s disapproval of Asa’s sinister lifestyle, he does exactly what he needs to do in order to stay a step ahead in his business. He also does exactly what he needs to do in order to stay a step ahead of Sloan.
Nothing will get in his way.
Nothing except Carter.

From New York Times bestselling author, Colleen Hoover, writing as C. Hoover.
This book was originally written as a side project by the author. It previously appeared on other platforms under the same title, but has since been slightly edited from its original content and formatted specifically for kindle. Please note that the content of this book is more graphic than the content of other books written by this author, hence the distinction between the names. This title is recommended for mature audiences only due to extreme graphic content. Recommended for readers 18+.
Warning: For readers who might be triggered by sensitive subject matter, this book contains scenes which depict rape, murder and other graphic violence.

Review

Holy crap. That’s what comes to mind when I think of Too Late. Let me start by saying this book is not in any way light hearted. This is probably one of the heaviest and emotionally challenging books I have ever read. There were several times I had to lay my Kindle down and just take a breath.

I do wish some of the scenes between Sloan and Asa were not as descriptive. Especially during the times where he forced her to have sex with him, but it did help relay the true evilness of Asa. I also wished we had been given more of a back story for Luke, but regardless I still loved his character.

Too Late takes you on one hell of an emotional roller coaster, in true Colleen Hoover fashion, but it is darker and more explicit than the other books of hers I’ve read.

Amazon Link: http://amzn.to/2jksdQG

Rating

♥♥♥♥

Quotes

“I lift my hips and remove my clothes, just like the whore I’ve become for him.”

“…until this moment, I had no idea what it felt like to be valued. What it felt like to be respected. Until this moment, I had no idea what it felt like to be cared for.”

“Worries flow from her lips like the random words that flow from her fingertips. I reach out and try to catch them, clenching them in my fists, wanting nothing more than to catch them all.”

“He unclenched his fists and dropped her worries, unable to catch them for her. But she picked them back up and dusted them off. She wants to be able to hold them herself now.”

“Guys who allow girls in their life between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. have shit for brains.”

“I guess that’s the difference between being loved the right way and the wrong way. You either feel tethered to an anchor…or you feel like you’re flying.”

2 thoughts on “Too Late by C. Hoover

  1. Even though Too Late is written by Colleen (I think we all know that) she wanted to show us a darker side to her writing, hence her using C. Hoover (not much of a difference, but different enough to put a line between her softer content and her harder content). I really enjoyed Too Late. I love her other work, but I always felt like it was too safe, like she was writing with a set template in all her stories, so Too Late was rather a refreshing read for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed seeing the darker side of her writing and I still think Too Late is a GREAT book, but I didn’t view it as a refreshing read, at least not for me, because of how heavy the content was.

    Every time I read any of Colleen’s writing her pure talent amazes me. I think her talent and ability to make readers connect with the characters and story is why I wished that some of the scenes between Asa and Sloan weren’t as descriptive. It was so hard to get through those scenes because my heart broke for her and I could feel her pain.

    Like

Leave a Reply

