Book Review · Books · Psychological Thriller · Young Adult

Unnatural Deeds by Cyn Balog

I was provided an ARC of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I can only think of one word to adequately describe Unnatural Deeds… WOW! In many ways this book reminded me of a Gillian Flynn novel.

Description

A novel of infatuation and obsession, Unnatural Deeds has an electrifying ending that readers won’t see coming.

Victoria Zell doesn’t fit in, not that she cares what anyone thinks. She and her homeschooled boyfriend, Andrew, are inseparable. All they need is each other. That is, until Zachary Zimmerman joins her homeroom. Within an hour of meeting, he convinces good-girl Vic to cut class. And she can’t get enough of that rush.

Despite Vic’s loyalty to Andrew, she finds her life slowly entwining with Z’s. Soon she’s lying to everyone she knows in an effort to unravel Z’s secrets. Except Z’s not the only one with a past. Victoria’s hiding her own secrets, secrets that will come back to haunt her…and destroy everything in her path.

Review

I just want us all to take a moment here and first appreciate how eerily gorgeous this cover is. The cover is what first attracted me to even look at this book. When I started reading this, I had very high hopes based off of the description and the cover and Cyn Balog MORE than delivered on my expectations.

I don’t want to go into too many details and spoil the book for you, so I am going to be a little vague in my review. The entire story is told from the point of view of Vic as she is laying injured in the woods and recording her story on her cell phone trying to explain how she found herself in this situation to her boyfriend Andrew. Oh, Andrew! One thing Vic and I agree on his how sweet Andrew is and how he deserves such a better life than the one he has been handed.

Cyn Balog’s writing is beautiful and captivating. She immediately pulled me in and I when I wasn’t reading, I was thinking about reading and wondering what was about to happen next. Having the story told from Vic’s point of view really immersed me in just how obsessive and anxiety ridden she is as a character. I also really enjoyed how each chapter started out with either a newspaper clipping about the murder or a police interview of someone close to Vic. It added a separate perspective to the story outside of Vic’s personal reflections of everything that lead up to the incident.

Quotes

If you haven’t already added Unnatural Deeds to your TBR list, you should do so immediately!

11 thoughts on “Unnatural Deeds by Cyn Balog

Leave a Reply

