Books

#ThrowbackThursday Book Question

Since today is Throwback Thursday, I began thinking about the first time I fell in love with a book and didn’t want the story to end.

I was in 3rd grade and we had to regularly read books and then take an Accelerated Reader (AR) test. For each test we would earn AR points depending on how many questions we answered correctly, how long the book was, and what reading level the book was. I remember coming across Harry Potter and the Sorcerers Stone during my class’s weekly library trip and it was a longer book and it was on the advanced reading level my teacher had recommended for me, so I decided to give it a try. I could not put the book down. I finished the book before my class’s next scheduled library day, so I went to the library before school started to check out the next book in the series, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.

From that day forward, if my parents wanted to get me to do something besides reading, like homework or cleaning my room, they would have to take my library book away first.

What was the first  book to make you fall in love with reading and still sticks with you today?

5 thoughts on “#ThrowbackThursday Book Question

Leave a Reply

