book review

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

When I won It Ends With Us in a giveaway hosted by author Alison Ryan, I was so excited because I had heard so many extroidinary things about this book. This book lived up to every positive word I had read about it and then some. I will most definitely be reading more of Colleen Hoover’s work after this.

Prior to It Ends With Us the only book featuring domestic violence that I had read was Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks. I felt like It Ends With Us gave a unique look at domestic violence. Lily had grown up with a father who was extremely violent with her mother and she hated him for it. Not only did Lily give us a look at domestic violence from the eyes of a child, but also from the eyes of the abused spouse when she marries Ryle. Lily swore that she would never be like her mother if a man hit her, but she struggles with the idea of leaving Ryle so much that she feels like she is a coward.

Let me just stop here and say that if you are reading this and you have EVER experienced domestic violence and have successfully escaped the situation, I applaud you and your courage. I can’t even imagine how difficult that was for you. If you are currently a victim of domestic violence, whether you are a man or a woman, you deserve someone who respects you and loves you enough not to hurt you. You are worth more than an abusive relationship. You deserve happiness and safety. Domestic abuse is not just physical. It can be emotional and verbal as well. If you need help, PLEASE call 1-800-799-7233 or visit http://www.thehotline.org

Lily’s story was so emotional that I just wanted to reach out and hug her throughout most of the book. At other times I was laughing along with her as she developed a great friendship with Allysa and Marshall or I was feeling her anger so strongly I wanted to be right there giving her father or Ryle a piece of my mind. Colleen Hoover brought these characters to life and made them easy to connect with. It Ends With Us was such a moving and eye-opening story that shows how difficult and painful it can be to break the cycle of domestic violence.

Buy It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover on Amazon by clicking Here.
Have you read It Ends With Us? What did you think?

2 thoughts on “It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

