Book Review · Young Adult

What if I Fly?

I know I have been a little MIA this past week, but things have been pretty busy. I had to get things together for my little brother’s birthday party and I just celebrated my 23rd birthday yesterday! Even with all of the craziness going on, I still made time to keep up with my reading and finished the emotional roller coaster of a love story that is What if I Fly? by Jayne Conway.

Description

Julia and Will grew up in the same small Rhode Island town, but their lives couldn’t be more different. But when their paths cross one fateful summer night, Julia and Will are captivated by one another and their lives forever changed. They share a deep bond, a passionate love, and are truly alive together – but love isn’t always enough. Can Julia and Will overcome the roadblocks of betrayal, loss, judgment and pride to navigate the sharp twists and turns of the road less traveled? As the dramatic events of their story unfold, they are both forced to open their eyes and find the strength within to live life on their own terms.

Review

One of my favorite aspects of this story is how you get to experience every twist and turn from the day they met in 1992 onward. At times the story could be so frustrating because you want Will and Julia to do one thing and they do the complete opposite! Don’t even get me started on the whole Avery issue. Avery was definitely on my bad side throughout the entire book and I was definitely reacting the same way towards her as Ellie, who was probably my favorite character.

Being able to switch between Will and Julia’s points of views really added to the story, but it also made some moments even more frustrating because you see exactly what is getting in the way of their relationship. If you haven’t already read What if I Fly? and you enjoy a good romance novel, you should add this one to your list.

Leave a Reply

