Book Review · Books · Paranormal Romance · Romance

To Trust a Wolf (Unnatural Alliances Book 1)

Rating: 4 Stars

Since today was a gorgeous Sunday, I had the great pleasure of being able to enjoy time with my family at the pool and finish a second book. To Trust a Wolf by Danielle Hardgrave is a paranormal romance full of mystery, intrigue, and even includes some steamy romance.

Description

Does he want her, or is he after something else?

As an archivist in a small museum, the biggest thing Helen Jurist has to deal with each year is the Annual Donor Gala. When her museum becomes a flurry of activity, due to the nearby discovery of a large Viking hoard, Helen finds the additional responsibility more of a pain than an honour. She doesn’t know anything about Vikings, or what makes the hoard so unusual. She just wants to get through the gala without her boss catching the drapes on fire.

Nobody from the public is supposed to have access to the find, but try telling that to Rune Helsen. A handsome Dane with wolfish desires, he walks around like he owns the place. He’s Helen’s worst nightmare—if only her traitorous body wasn’t so attracted to him.

But Rune has a secret, one that brought him to see the artifacts for more than just scholarly interest. Unknown to Helen, there’s so much more at stake than just pulling off a successful evening. A whole world she never knew existed, a world of vampires and shifters, stands on the precipice—and there’s something in the Cutler Hoard that could burn it all down.

Review

I think one of my favorite aspects of To Trust a Wolf was the fact that it was a paranormal romance with mystery, but with a more mature voice and story line. As someone who enjoyed reading paranormal romances when I was younger, it is nice to be able to enjoy a mature adult story in the genre.

Helen is a great down to earth character with whom I easily related. I tend to be a very logical person, just like Helen. I love that she tends to speak her mind and is not afraid to stand up for herself and snap back with some attitude, when the situation calls for it.

I definitely enjoyed the fast paced mystery that ran through the book and the constant question of if Rune was honestly attracted to Helen or if he was simply using her for her museum access. I mean, come on, Rune was not subtle about the fact that he blatantly throws around his money and good looks to get what he wants. I’ll be the first to admit that, even though I was Team Edward in high school, I was not blind to the gorgeousness that was Jacob Black. Hello, what girl doesn’t enjoy a good look in werewolf?

The added surprise at the end with the vampire was something I did not see coming, but it fit so well into the story line that I loved the twist. Besides, every good wolf story has to have some vampires! I was nowhere close to ready for this book to end when it did, because I want to know what happens next in this story. I feel like there is so much more to come in this series and I definitely plan to read the next book once it is released.

Leave a Reply

